Posted on November 15, 2017

Mary Free Bed Foundation receives Excellence in Fundraising Award

The Mary Free Bed Foundation has been honored with the 2017 Excellence in Fundraising Award by the Association of Fundraising Professionals West Michigan Chapter. The award was presented today at the chapter’s National Philanthropy Day event at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel.

National Philanthropy Day, established by President Ronald Reagan in 1986, recognizes the impact of charitable giving and philanthropic engagement.

“We are honored and humbled to be recognized for our fundraising efforts,” said Timothy J. Pietryga, vice president for advancement at the hospital. “In five short years, the generosity of our donors has allowed us to expand our programs to provide hope and freedom to tens of thousands of patients through rehabilitation.”

The Mary Free Bed Foundation secures resources to support programs, therapies and care that restore independence to Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital patients. Since its establishment, the foundation has cultivated a development infrastructure featuring planned-giving programs, well-attended signature events and program-specific funds.

The foundation’s “Join the Movement” capital campaign, the largest in the hospital’s 126-year history, exceeded its $16 million goal by nearly $1 million. The campaign supported the $66.4 million building expansion and renovation project that made Mary Free Bed the fifth-largest freestanding rehabilitation hospital in the United States. Its donor base has grown to more than 5,000 donors.

The foundation’s team also includes Darrow Goodspeed, Major Gifts and Donor Relations director; Jocelyn Dettloff, Annual Fund director; and Laura Dulay, Sponsorship and Event manager.

The Association of Fundraising Professionals has more than 30,000 members in 233 chapters worldwide, working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education and certification programs. The West Michigan chapter is comprised of more than 180 members.

Other 2017 honorees include Marcie Hillary, executive director of Hospice of West Michigan, with the Benjamin Franklin Award for Outstanding Fundraising Professional; Sue Den Herder with the Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award; Perrigo with the Outstanding Corporation Award; Allegan County Community Foundation with the Exemplary Foundation Award; and Jean Krohn with the President’s Award.