Therapy Student Education

Welcome to Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital’s online resource for therapy students and residents, where you’ll find helpful information to prepare for clinical rotation. Find the appropriate contact information below.

Outpatient Therapy - Mary Free Bed Outpatient Therapy Center

Occupational Therapy
Erika Chapman, OTR
616.840.8163
erika.chapman@maryfreebed.com

Physical Therapy
Kirk Randall, PT, MS, SCCE
616.840.8226
kirk.randall@maryfreebed.com

Physical and Occupational Therapies – Orthopedic
Carley Klocko, PT, DPT, CKTP, SCCE
616.840.8323
carley.klocko@maryfreebed.com

Recreation Therapy
Brianne Taylor, CTRS
616.840.8648
brianne.taylor@maryfreebed.com
Fieldwork and internship placements for recreation therapy are:

    • Fall (August-December)
      Applications accepted through Jan. 31.
      Interviews take place second and third weeks of February.
    • Summer (April-August)
      Applications accepted through Sept. 30.
      Interviewing the second and third weeks of October.
    • Winter/Spring (January-April)
      Applications accepted through May 31.
      Interviewing the second and third weeks of June.

 

Speech-Language Pathology
Brooke Koster, MA CCC-SLP
616.840.8596
Brooke.McNamara@maryfreebed.com

Inpatient Therapy - Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital

Occupational Therapy
Mariah Walker, MS, OTRL, CLT
616.840.8558
mariah.walker@maryfreebed.com

Physical Therapy
Cara Hudson, PT, CBIS, SCCE
616.840.8558
Cara.Hudson@maryfreebed.com

Recreation Therapy
Brianne Taylor, CTRS
616.840.8648
brianne.taylor@maryfreebed.com
Fieldwork and internship placements for recreation therapy are:

    • Fall (August-December)
      Applications accepted through Jan. 31.
      Interviews take place second and third weeks of February.
    • Summer (April-August)
      Applications accepted through Sept. 30.
      Interviewing the second and third weeks of October.
    • Winter/Spring (January-April)
      Applications accepted through May 31.
      Interviewing the second and third weeks of June.

 

Speech-Language Pathology
Brooke Koster, MA, CCC-SLP
616.840.8596
Brooke.McNamara@maryfreebed.com

Therapy - Mercy Health Saint Mary's Medical Center

Occupational Therapy
Sarah Zeinstra, OTR/L
616.685.6264
sarah.zeinstra@maryfreebed.com

Lisa Lively, COTA/L
616.685.6264
lisa.lively@maryfreebed.com

Physical Therapy
Rhoda Kranenberg, PT, SCCE
616.685.6264
rhoda.kranenberg@maryfreebed.com

Lynette Payne PTA/L
616.685.6264
lynette.payne@maryfreebed.com

Speech-Language Pathology
Elizabeth Cronkrite, MA, CCC-SLP
616.685.6264
elizabeth.cronkrite@maryfreebed.com

Spine + Neurological Rehabilitation - Mercy Health Neuroscience-Hauenstein Center

Occupational Therapy
Kayleigh Rogers, MS, OTR/L
616.685.6749
Kayleigh.Rogers@maryfreebed.com
Kayleigh.Rogers@mercyhealth.com

Physical Therapy – Neuro Rehabilitation and Spine Rehabilitation
Katie Dabkowski, PT, DPT, SCCE
616.685.5227
katherine.dabkowski@mercyhealth.com

Speech-Language Pathology
Jared Host, SLP
616.840.6846
jared.j.host@mercyhealth.com

Sub-Acute Rehabilitation - Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital

Occupational Therapy
Jonathan Fife, OT
616.840.8764
jonathan.fife@maryfreebed.com

Physical Therapy
Bonnie Smith, PT, DPT, SCCE
616.840.8253
bonnie.smith@maryfreebed.com

Speech-Language Pathology
Yee Lam Nykamp, MA, CCC-SLP
616.840.8764
yeelam.nykamp@maryfreebed.com

Preparing for Clinical Rotation

In preparation for your clinical rotation, you must complete the onboarding process at least three weeks prior to your start date.

Click here to access the student onboarding website.

Email medical.education@maryfreebed.com  with questions or concerns.

Name badge
Please bring the name badge provided by your academic institution. You’ll also be provided with a Mary Free Bed identification badge that must be returned to your clinical supervisor on your final day.

 

Health emergency
We follow our hospital emergency procedures if a student needs medical attention for any type of injury or health emergency during working hours.

The on-duty nursing supervisor will be called immediately to determine the appropriate intervention. This may include an emergency room visit, a physician’s care, the student being sent home or continuing to work. Our Infection Control coordinator is available to determine if there are risks related to communicable or infectious disease. Students are responsible for any subsequent medical costs.

Parking
Plenty of free parking is available on Logan Street between Lafayette and Jefferson avenues, and on the west side of Jefferson Avenue across from the Cass parking lot.

Dining options
The Mary Free Bed Kitchen & Cafe offers fresh-from-scratch cooking with seasonal ingredients. Located on the second floor, it’s open for indoor and outdoor dining as well as grab-and-go meals.

Food also is available at the Urban Platter cafeteria in Mercy Health Saint Mary’s Hospital adjoining Mary Free Bed.

Housing
Students are responsible for making their own housing arrangements and for all related costs.